A Call For Help

June 4, 2009 at 12:11 pm 2 comments

Last night I posted that my website, http://ahecker.com would be up and running by 9:00 this morning. I’ll save you the trouble of going there – it doesn’t work yet. The works perfectly fine when tested locally, but when I put the files up through FTP (I used CyberDuck), the links were all broken. I have double checked everything and it seems to be fine, but the results are still the same.

So I am asking for help. My website is being hosted through DreamHost, which does not have a lot of customer support, or at least any that I can find about this topic. If anyone has a website through DreamHost, or knows what I might be doing wrong in the FTP process, please leave a comment here or email me at toledo8904@gmail.com . Or if you just know someone I should talk to about it, drop me a comment or email.

I spent a lot of time working on this site, and I don’t want it all to be for nothing. Thank you for any help you may be able to give, and I will be back with an update and a story by the end of the weekend.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Procrastination Revisited Last batch of Freshman links!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Zac  |  June 4, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    I’m assuming you uploaded all the files in the same folder structure as you had them locally?

    Also, check your links in the html and make sure they are relative, not absolute. (for example – index.html, not file:///Macintosh HD/…/index.html)

    Hope you figure it out!

    Reply
    • 2. Aaron Hecker  |  June 4, 2009 at 1:47 pm

      Thanks for your advice!

      It appears as though I am going to have to change all of my links, including picture links, etc. They were all referenced locally but the setup on the server is slightly different, so I guess I have to adjust accordingly.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Pages

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

