Linux, Chicago, Pixar, and Anxiety

May 21, 2009 at 11:03 pm 1 comment

Today turned out to be an interesting day. A busy day, but an interesting one.

It began with a moment of coincidence in my first class. My partner in the class (a German exchange student), mentioned how she would not be getting much work done on her project this weekend because she was going to Chicago. That is funny to me because my roommate and I are going to Chicago this weekend as well. Not a huge deal, but funny that we would both be going in the same weekend.

Quick side note: My roommate just started a blog: Piece of My Mind. He only has one post up right now (but is currently working on his second, so by the time this posts he will probably have two).

Anyways, I got back to my room and brought up the online portion of my Psychology exam that I needed to do before taking the written part after lunch. I got a little over half way done with it when it booted me off, and wouldn’t allow me to continue. After a few minutes of pointless troubleshooting, I emailed my professor who allowed me to take the test fully in class. Whew, I would not have been happy if I would have failed that test due to a technical glitch!

After taking the test, I went to the Engineering department and participated in what was called Installfest. Which basically was a room with a bunch of computer nerds (no offense meant here, I almost am one myself!) who helped people to install Linux on their laptops. So I now have Ubuntu Linux running through Parallels on my Mac, alongside with Windows 7. More on that in a later post.

Then, I was fortunate enough to get to meet (kind of) the director and producer of the new Pixar film, Up, which debuts in theaters next Friday (May 29th). I only kind of got to meet them because it was a Q&A session with roughly 100 people present, but it was still much more personal than I have ever met a director or producer before, so it excited me. The session was held at DAAP (the College of Design, Art, Architechture, and Planning at the University of Cincinnati) and was open primarily to DAAP students and E-Media students. This was really cool, and I learned a lot about the process of creating the movie, moving through the ranks of a company like Pixar, and a few other tidbits that were just cool to know (they are re-releasing Toy Story 1 and 2 in 3D!).

Tomorrow is an exciting day as well, as it is the day that I find out if I get the RA position for next year. I am excited to find out, but really nervous, because it has been a long, hard, and competitive process. I will announce the results when I get them sometime tomorrow, along with a post about my thoughts on the future as it relates to my career.

Until tomorrow then, have a nice night and wish me luck!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Help me to reach 1,000 views! Not the happiest of news

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Pages

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

