DSi: Interesting or over the top?

April 5, 2009 at 3:45 pm 2 comments

Today is the official release of the Nintendo DSi, Nintendo’s next generation of handheld gaming. Sure, it looks almost exactly like the DS lite, but its the new features that set it apart from the old generation. I find it interesting that this release follows Nintendo’s old pattern of handheld releases: Original, smaller version of original (remember the GameBoy Pocket? or the GBA SP?), then new feature (color screen, camera and wireless internet). Throughout the ages Nintendo has always been the dominant force in handheld gaming, so if the system ain’t broke, don’t fix it, right?

So the question is, will you buy one? I might not, but mostly because I don’t play my regular DS that often. In fact, I didn’t even bring it to college with me because I never played it. But the new features look pretty cool, as long as they can integrate them into gameplay effectively. And the DSiWare looks cool as long as they keep it updated. So eventually, I might get one, if I see a game I would play a lot and come across a few hundred bucks.

What feature are you most excited for in the new DSi, if any? I would have to say internet adaptivity, because that is just cool. Sure, it only works within WiFi networks, but I’m used to that through using my iPod Touch. Which reminds me, I might be getting an iPhone this summer, if they release a new one and it looks really cool… And if the price is right.

Currently Listening:
Zombie
The Cranberries
The Cranberries Great Hits

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Thinking ahead… Happy Easter

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mom  |  April 7, 2009 at 4:50 pm

    can i go to that concert with you? sounds like fun!

    Reply
  • 2. Matt  |  April 7, 2009 at 10:10 pm

    no thanks, nintendo. I’m still plenty happy with my PSP.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Pages

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

